An Interview With… Stuart Watson

It’s time for another interview with someone from RT, and this time it’s Stuart Watson, Divisional Manager of our Site Projects Division.

Bit of trivia for you, and to further prove that RT is a family business, our Ops Director Rob is his brother-in-law.

A further bit of trivia for you, Stu possibly has the most nick-names out of all of us: Watto, Big Stu, Silver Fox, Captain Wow, Stu-art (it’s the way you say it…) and the weirdest of the bunch: Old Man Parsnip Fingers.

So, the business part:

How did you get into Russell Taylor?

I was at the end of my tether in the catering industry and a few of my friends had recently joined other recruitment firms which initially planted the seed. I saw an advertisement in the job centre for entry level trainee recruiter in the Oxton area, a huge drop in my salary but I had to make the change to better my future. Here we are nearly 7 years on!

What would you be doing if you hadn’t?

I would have been in recruitment or sales somewhere, but certainly not in catering!

And now the fun part:

Favourite ice-cream flavour?

Ben and Jerrys – Choc brownie

Most expensive drunken spend?

New Year’s Eve 2004(ish) – in a packed busy bar in Hoylake I rushed to the bar at 11.55 to get champagne for myself and a new girlfriend (hoping to impress), I finally got served and asked for a bottle of house Champagne – she said something back to me to which I couldn’t hear at all over the band playing so I just nodded and agreed, turns out they were out of house Champagne and I just bought a bottle of Dom Perignon Rose for £140 quid!!!!

Three wishes you’d wish if a genie appeared?

Endless saving account – Fishing Boat – Huge detached house in the countryside (with no mortgage!)

What song is in your head right now?

Escape (The Piña Colada Song)

You should know the one..!

How long can you go without tea/coffee?

1 hour MAX

What is your favourite joke?

What’s a pirates favourite shop?

AAAAAArrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgos!

Favourite holiday you’ve had so far?

Canada, Vancover Island.

Two words: Salmon. Fishing.

Bonus question (just to… spice it up a bit):

What would the bribe need to be for you to eat the world’s hottest pepper?

A 150-man order for a 10 year project

We are, after all, a recruitment company!

Leave a Reply

